Member since 2024
Neca logo square

North East Combined Authority

NTCA masthead

The North East Combined Authority was formed on 7th May 2024. It is led by an elected Mayor and Cabinet and covers the seven local authority areas of County Durham, Gateshead, Newcastle, North Tyneside, Northumberland, South Tyneside and Sunderland.

The region shares a strong identity based on a common history linked to the region’s industrial and mining heritage. There are a number of significant growth sectors including automotive and advanced manufacturing, offshore and renewable energy, and life sciences, with four outstanding universities.

But despite these opportunities, industrial decline over several decades has resulted in a productivity gap with England, excluding London. Key challenges are a high unemployment and economic inactivity rate, low pay, high levels of child poverty, and high health inequalities.

The Combined Authority’s purpose is to champion the full potential of the region, creating a better way of life by connecting communities, giving people the skills to succeed, and improving wellbeing for all. The new Combined Authority will build on the North of Tyne’s collaborative approach towards solving the problems facing communities.

The North of Tyne Combined Authority - IGN member 2020-24.